

STATE OF NEVADA

OFFICE OF THE LABOR COMMISSIONER 3300 W. SAHARA AVE. SUITE 225 LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 89102 PHONE (702) 486-2650 FAX (702) 486-2660



OFFICE OF THE LABOR COMMISSIONER 1818 COLLEGE PARKWAY, SUITE 102 CARSON CITY, NEVADA 89706 PHONE (775) 684-1890 FAX (775)687-6409

Department of Business & Industry OFFICE OF THE LABOR COMMISSIONER http://www.labor.nv.gov

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

What is Minimum Wage in Nevada?

 Nevada is a two tier minimum wage system. Minimum wage is \$7.25 for employers who offer employees a qualified health insurance plan. \$8.25 must be paid if the employer does not offer a qualified health insurance plan. Article 15 of the Nevada Constitution.

When must a discharged employee be paid?

 A discharged employees wages shall be due and payable immediately. NRS 608.020.

When must a quitting employee be paid?

• Final wages must be paid within seven days after the employee resigns or by the next regularly scheduled payday, whichever is earlier. NRS 608.030.

Are salary employees automatically exempt from overtime?

• Salary employees are not automatically exempt from overtime and must meet an overtime exemption under NRS 608.018.

How often must an employee be paid?

• Employers must pay their employees at least twice a month. NRS 608.060.

When does overtime need to be paid?

If your employee makes less than one and one half times minimum wage per hour you need to pay overtime for time worked over 8 hours in a 24-hour period and also for time worked over 40 hours in their work week. If they make more than one and one half times minimum wage you need to pay them overtime for time worked over 40 hours in a work week. NRS 608.018.

Can money be deducted from an employees pay check?

Deductions, other than those required by law and contributions to benefit programs, can only be deducted from your employee's paycheck if there is prior written authorization from the employee. Blanket authorization are not valid. NRS 608.110 and NAC 608.160.

How often must breaks be given?

• An employee must be given a paid, 10 minute break for each 4 hour period of work. In addition, employees are entitled to an unpaid, 30 minute meal period for each 8 hour period of work. NRS 608.019, NAC 608.145.

May a employer take a portion of a employees tips?

• An employer may not take all or a part of any tips or gratuities or apply as a credit toward the payment of minimum wage. NRS 608.160.

Is Tip Pooling allowed under Nevada Law?

Yes, employers may establish mandatory tip pools that include employees of different ranks, so long as all the tips are distributed amongst the employees, and the employer does not keep any portion of the tips for themselves. *Wynn Las Vegas, LLC v. Baldonado*, et al., 129 Nev.,Advance Opinion 78 (Oct. 31, 2013).

May an employer charge for uniforms?

 No, all uniforms or accessories distinctive as to style, color or material shall be furnished, without cost, to employees by their employer. NRS 608.165.

* Please check most recent version of NRS and NAC for most current laws. This information is not intended as legal advice.

REV 01/2019